The Company Quartet

Write a Review
Gift wrapping:
Options available

Description Hide Description- Show Description+

William Dalrymple's epic, bestselling and multi-award-winning histories are now available in this magnificent paperback box set, presented in a stylish slipcase. Comprised of four individual books – The AnarchyWhite MughalsReturn of a King and The Last Mughal – this essential collection spans over two hundred years of tumultuous colonial history, covert political machinations and bloody resistance.

We still talk about the British conquering India, but that phrase disguises a much more sinister reality. For it was not the British government that began seizing chunks of India in the mid-eighteenth century, but a dangerously unregulated private company headquartered in one small office, five windows wide, in the city of London.

Bringing together two decades of meticulous research and masterful narration, 'The Company Quartet' tells the remarkable story of how the Mughal empire, which then generated just under half the world's wealth, disintegrated and came to be replaced by the first global corporate power: the East India Company.

From multi-award-winning and bestselling historian William Dalrymple, a four-book collection chronicling the extraordinary story of the rise and fall of the East India Company.

Author: William Darlymple

Paperback  Published 31 August 2021  2200 pages

'Gorgeous, spellbinding and important' -Sunday Times

'Rampaging, brilliant, passionate history' -Wall Street Journal

'Magnificent … Dalrymple has uncovered sources never used before' -Guardian

'Vivid … unmatched … revolutionary … humane' -Sunday Telegraph

Customers Also Viewed

Subscribe to our newsletter

Get the latest updates on new products and upcoming sales

No thanks