Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1

I Can't Date Jesus : Love, Sex, Family, Race, and Other Reasons I've Put My Faith in Beyoncé

$24.99

Product Description

This is a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity.

It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux.

Equality for LGBTQ people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being Black in America is…well, have you watched the news?

With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today’s boldest writers on social issues, ''I Can’t Date Jesus'' is Michael Arceneaux’s impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today’s America. Leaving no bigoted or ignorant stone unturned, he describes his journey in learning to embrace his identity when the world told him to do the opposite.

He eloquently writes about coming out to his mother; growing up in Houston, Texas; being approached for the priesthood; his obstacles in embracing intimacy that occasionally led to unfortunate fights with fire ants and maybe fleas; and the persistent challenges of young people who feel marginalized and denied the chance to pursue their dreams.

Perfect for fans of David Sedaris, ''I Can’t Date Jesus'' tells us — without apologies — what it’s like to be outspoken and brave in a divisive world.

Author: Michael Arceneaux.

Paperback, 256 pp, Published 2018.

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Quantity:
Gift Wrapping:
Options available


 

Recent Updates

Connect with us

Newsletter


s