Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1
Customers also viewed

I, The Divine

$22.99

Product Description

A memorable and deeply moving portrait of a woman, a family and a culture told entirely in first chapters, this will appeal to fans of Amy Tan and Jung Chang.

'In this delightful novel, Alameddine takes his greatest risks yet, and succeeds brilliantly, in a work that while marked by radical formal innovation, manages to be warm, sad, funny and moving' Michael Chabon

Named by her grandfather after 'the Divine' Sarah Bernhardt, Sarah Nour El-Din grows up in Beirut against the tense background of civil war. But the young Sarah finds pleasure in the everyday - her first cigarette, first kiss, seeking revenge on her tight-lipped stepmother. Then, with adulthood, comes an awareness of the fragility of life. After two failed marriages, the loss of her son, the death of one sister and the imprisonment of another, Sarah begins to tell her story. But this story is not so easy to tell.

A novel written entirely in first chapters, I, THE DIVINE is an honest and touching story of one woman's struggle to come to terms with her past.

Author: Rabih Alameddine.

Paperback, 320 pp, Published July 2019.

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Quantity:
Gift Wrapping:
Options available
Expected release date is 11th Jun 2019


 

Recent Updates

Connect with us

Newsletter


s