Loading... Please wait...
  • Image 1
Customers also viewed

The Fever King (Feverwake Book 1)

$14.99

Product Description

In the former United States, sixteen-year-old Noam Álvaro wakes up in a hospital bed, the sole survivor of the viral magic that killed his family and made him a technopath. His ability to control technology attracts the attention of the minister of defense and thrusts him into the magical elite of the nation of Carolinia.

The son of undocumented immigrants, Noam has spent his life fighting for the rights of refugees fleeing magical outbreaks—refugees Carolinia routinely deports with vicious efficiency. Sensing a way to make change, Noam accepts the minister’s offer to teach him the science behind his magic, secretly planning to use it against the government. But then he meets the minister’s son—cruel, dangerous, and achingly beautiful—and the way forward becomes less clear.

Caught between his purpose and his heart, Noam must decide who he can trust and how far he’s willing to go in pursuit of the greater good.

Author: Victoria Lee

Paperback  Published March 2019  384 pages

Reviews:

“This fast-paced, issue-driven thriller will collect readers, who will eagerly anticipate the sequel. With references to the Holocaust as well as present-day issues of immigration, deportation, martial law, and racism, Lee has worked philosophical and current-day realities into a promising series opener.” Booklist

“[A] standout. Diverse characters, frank discussions about sexual and mental abuse, and reasonably plausible science-based magic elevate this above many dystopian peers.” Kirkus Reviews

“Adults and older teens who appreciate stories with close ties among magic, science, and political machinations will find this first novel appealing.” Library Journal

“This is a book for teens of today wrestling with the political unrest in the United States. Written from the refugee perspective, it explores topics of abuse, suicide, intergenerational trauma, mass plague outbreaks, and more. Lee’s writing is advanced, sophisticated, and full of emotion. This is for true lovers of sci-fi and dystopian [fiction] who enjoy deep character development mixed with a little romance. Fans of Neal Shusterman and Veronica Roth will be drawn to this novel. Highly recommended…” School Library Journal

Product Reviews

Write Review

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Quantity:
Gift Wrapping:
Options available


 

Recent Updates

Connect with us

Newsletter


s